Let’s marry my idea with your effort

(Guest post from a colleague)  I have a huge idea. It might be game changing or even (dare I dream) paradigm shifting.  I’ll shoot you straight, though: It’s going to require a big commitment of your time and resources. The greatness of the idea is matched only by the amount of effort you’ll need to put in to accomplish my vision. Help me and your name will ring out in the songs history will sing about this idea. Also, would you write those songs for history to sing? Thanks. I’m swamped.

Marrying my idea with your effort will create the greatest union since peanut butter was first joined with jelly. I’m not immediately familiar with the details of your current day to day workload, but I assume you’re interested in taking on a substantial amount of extra work to help my idea come to fruition.  Because, let’s face it, this idea is huge. I’d start on it myself, but like I said, I’m real busy right now. Plus, I’m more of a big-picture-pie-in-the-blue-sky kind of guy. People like you have a better head for the details and actual labor of it all.

Look, I’m not your boss, so you can say no. I’d say yes, but that’s just the kind of guy I am. Hey, did you know your boss and I are friends? Yeah, we golf. We’re golfing this weekend, in fact. Yes, I’d like to say that you’re a real asset, always ready to jump in and support the team. You’d like me to say that too, wouldn’t you? That’s the spirit.

You can start by writing an idea summary memo for my supervisor. Try to write in my voice, which I describe a “CEO-caliber”, “promoteable” and “radical.” I’ll try and send you some bullet points outlining the idea when I get a chance, but I may need the summary memo before then. I’d give you some more specifics now, but I’m late for something else, good luck, and keep me posted.

[Photo: Day 115: Working late by madmolecule]

 

About attnemployeesadmin1

Attention!Employees is the employee newsletter for everyone, regardless of employer/employment status. Written by communications professional Jerome O. Gnome.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

